925 Lovers Lane; Bowling Green, KY 42103

Phone: (270) 846-4506


Warren County Conservation District © ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.  We are an equal opportunity employer and provider. All programs and services are offered on a nondiscriminatory basis, without regard to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, marital status, or handicap.



Board of Supervisors

Garnett Owens - Chairman
LaJuana Wilcher - Vice-Chairman

Pete Dotson - Secretary/Treasurer
Emily Perkins Sharp

Rhodes Hester

Troy Ellis

Penny Warwick - District Technician
Morgan Mairs - District Administrative Secretary

District Staff

history & Topography of warren county, kentucky


Warren County is in the south-central part of Kentucky. It has a total of about 546 square miles, or 349,000 acres. Bowling Green, the county seat is near the center of the county. The extreme northern portion of the county is steep and undulating, characterized by deep dissecting drainageways. The remainder of  the county is mostly hilly and rolling, excluding river and creek bottoms. It is drained by Barren River, Gasper River, Green River, Drakes Creek, and underground streams through depressions in karst areas. Warren County was formed in 1796 as parts of Logan County. It is named for General Joseph Warren, who died at Bunker Hill during the Revolutionary War.  Farming and Industry are the main enterprises in the county. The climate and topography is favorable for grain crops and livestock production. Corn, wheat, soybeans, tobacco, hay, pasture, beef cattle, dairy, swine, and poultry are common agriculture enterprises in the county.  In addition to agriculture, industries present are automotive products, food processing, fiber, livestock feed, manufacturing chemicals, clothing, plastics, electrical parts, and heavy equipment. Warren County is also home to the Corvette Assembly Plant and Corvette Museum.

Purpose & What We Do


Our purpose at the Warren County Conservation District is to conserve the natural resources of the county including soil, air, wildlife, forestry, and water.  We do this through cost-share programs, equipment rentals, technical assistance, educational programs and workshops. We are able to achieve this by partnering with many great agencies on the local, state, and federal level, along with universities and businesses around the state.   The conservation district offers our services to all residents of Warren County, including farmers, landowners, homeowners, students, and wildlife enthusiasts.

About Warren County conservation district

The Warren County Conservation District was established in 1945. Its original mission was to provide technical and educational assistance to farmers in controlling soil erosion. The role of the district has expanded since the early years to include all land and homeowners with assistance in solving natural resource concerns. The District is a subdivision of state government and is governed by a seven member elected board of supervisors who serve a four-year term. Their duties are set forth in the Soil Conservation Act of 1940 as amended. The board consists of a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary-Treasurer and four members. Regular meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at the Conservation District Office and are open to the public. Financial assistance is provided by millage tax and Kentucky Division of Conservation.  Working agreements are entered into with federal, state and other agencies in carrying out the program of work for the District.